Drinking Bathwater Part 1

Image

Tonight I decided to take a bath. Anyone who knows me knows that I don’t take baths. They require you to stop. No like, really stop. You can not bring your phone, computer, pen and paper, or anything else into the tub. Just you. Just me, me and this bathtub. Well, I am going to do this, I am going to do it right. I grab the Epsom Salt and put it in a mixing bowl with some lavender oil,Vitamin E, and Sweet Almond oil. The hot water was already running and I added the mixture less than carefully. I don’t do baths. I’m doing THIS bath. Slowly I test the water with my big toe, like a kitten experiencing drinking from a water bowl for the first time, adorable, but slightly awkward. Pawing at the surface and being drawn in by the ripples, I dip. Ow! SHIT! This is why I don’t take baths. I turn the water to a cooler temperature and drain out half of the hot water. This bath is happening. I take a deep breath and feel the lavender tickle my sinuses, it is time to take the plunge.

Too cold. Of course. Baths require you to be patient and enjoy each and every moment. I tried to rush through the beginning so this is my punishment. I induce my instant karma and sulk in the slightly colder than lukewarm bathwater. Be present. The water is buoyant, it smells like a spa,the water is clear, the water is soft, ah yes, here we are, in the moment.

To be continued…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

