With Her Voice

Not feelin’ my voice latelyImage
it’s cracked, withered, weathered
scratchy, hoarse,squeaky, and tired.
She is speaking inside these days,

ordering my emotions to flee then herding them

back to their rightful places.

The pit of my tummy.
And oh, how my tummy hurts.
Screaming mommy,crying mommy,
MOMMY!!!!!
She knows about these tummy pains.
Her voice strong and operatic
High C’s effortlessly ring from her hums
rocking me, her voice cooling this heat in my tummy.
Her whispers,
like warm honey,
slide down my throat
healing those tiny tears with loving accuracy.
My voice, now not my own
but hers.
Soothed.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

